When I talk about dating different types of women, some people think that it’s bragging. I’m not. I do it to illustrate and compare and contrast the different and disrespectful treatment that these merchants seems to have for Black people in the area. I had another date with a White girl. She went into Bobby’s and paid with her credit card. What got me so enraged about this situation is that they didn’t ask her for I.D. Nor did they check her bag. Why is it that these merchants ask Black people for I.D and not White people? Why is it that they only ask for I.D in predominately Black areas? Apparently they are not required to ask for I.D if your card is signed in the back. They can compare the signature of the receipt with the signature on the back of the card. They may ask for ID if there is suspicion of fraud. Since they ask all Black people for I.D all the time and some White people some of the time, it is a Violation of your Civil Rights. From my understanding, Merchants may not refuse to honor a Card simply because the card holder refuses a request for supplementary information. The only exception is when a Card is unsigned when presented. However, "See ID" is not considered a valid signature. In these situations, a merchant must obtain authorization, review additional identification, and require the card holder to sign the card before completing a transaction. So is a merchant allowed to demand ID; they're not, unless the card is unsigned or says "See ID" as the signature. They are also not allowed to require a minimum payment for transactions. They do it because they have no respect for us. They think they can get away with it. It’s one of those subtle slights. They treat all Black customers as if we are criminals. Well I’m not a criminal. I refuse to go to any store that has bag checks or clerks behind bullet prove windows. It’s one of those stereotypical slights. You will not see this type of thing in White Neighborhoods. There is an unrealistic expectation that they should be suspicious of Black people. It’s one of those stereotype threats. It’s those types of actions that have made me less likely to shred a tear when these so called mom and pop stores are run out by Target. If these merchants have a Minimum payment requirement or I.D requirement you can file a Complaint online with Mastercard here.
Sunday, December 30, 2007
New Kind of Racial Profiling?
During the summer I went out on a date with a White girl. On our way back to my place we stopped for some groceries at that supermarket on Rogers Avenue. The clerk asked my date ,unabashedly, what type of organic products she would like to see shelved? She looked at him like wtf. Why in the world would you ask her such a question? Just because she’s white, the clerk assumed that she was new to the neighborhood and hence would like organic products. I see all these old time grocery stores on Flatbush with signs that say "we sell organic." Is that code word for we cater to White people?
Identity Crisis in Flatbush?
An identity crisis is an analogous state of confusion occurring in a social structure, such as an institution or a corporation. So when I saw this new Merchant on Flatbush, it has gotten me very perplex. There is a Dry Cleaning service on the corner of Flatbush Avenue and Cortelyou Road. 2112 Cortelyou Road to be exact. That’s not too strange. What’s perplexing is that the name of this place is Kensington Fabricare. Why in the world would you call a place in the heart of Flatbush Kensington Fabricare? This is Flatbush. No confusion about that. Do they want Flatbush to turn into Kensington like how Bushwick is now East Williamsburg? I’m perfectly happy and proud to live in Flatbush. I got two words for you. NO THANKS!
New York's Highest?
Since I was young, legend had it that in Flatbush, the police used to steal weed and other drugs from drug dealers for their own use. No one could ever prove it… until now. Apparently 2 cops were arrested for stealing weed. Good to know that we are being served well by New York’s finest. Read more here.
Friday, December 28, 2007
Who Needs Hipsters?
According to this article, a stereotype threat is that when a person’s social identity is attached to a negative stereotype, that person will tend to under perform in a manner consistent with the stereotype. Is Flatbush plagued by Stereotype Threats? I see it all the time. It’s very disturbing how these businesses cater to stereotypes and how people follow like sheep. How many White people really do eat organic? Are they just saying that they eat organic, because that's what they’ve been told? How about those fake gold chains that are sold all over Flatbush? How many Black people out there who are just going alone with that wanna be Gansta look? First everyone wore White T-Shirts then those atrocious I Heart NY T-Shirts. Try to be an individual for once. It’s very possible. Also there are businesses all over Flatbush that are geared towards how people perceived Black people. I suspect that this might be the reason that we see Footlocker and Models in Flatbush. . It’s the assumption that Black people will buy only expensive kicks. So we see expensive sneaker stores all over Flatbush while everything else is cheap. It is also this same perception that makes people think that if a few white people come to Flatbush then all of a sudden the neighborhood will be better. I got news for you. It's all in your head. We already have the demographics here to have all those other amnemities. Its not the people that need to change. It's the businesses with their warp sense of who deserves better services. There is a hidden demographic of Flatbush that no one talks about. The College graduates who have professional jobs but still live at home with their parents. These people are loaded. I should know. I was one of them. They make good money, most don't pay rent or very low rent. They have plenty of dispensable cash. Where do you think they spend all that money that they make? Not on Flatbush. Most go to Manhattan for a night on the town. Most shop at Express and H & M. Most do all their shopping away from Flatbush because the businesses had already stereotyped all of Flatbush as being poor (until a few white people came alone who probably have more expenses). I personally haven’t shop for clothes in Flatbush for almost 5 years. The clothes are so obviously stereotypical of how Black people are supposed to dress. I personally like traditional clothes that's not too flashy. All my shopping for clothes is always done outside of Flatbush. I find the clothes at Jimmy Jazz and DR. J’s to be very stereotypical of how they expect all of us to dress. I suspect absence of these stereotypes H &M or even DSW would make a fortune if they opened a store on Flatbush. The good news about this threat is that it can be defeated. First by acknowledging that it is a stereotype. Second by affirming to yourself that you are an Individual and you will not live your life by some stupid Stereotypes. I find all these Kennedy Fried Chicken, jewelry stores, 99 cents stores and cheap take out places to be insulting. I also find that all these old time stores sprucing up and cleaning up their act now that a few white people are moving in to be even more insulting. Why do they need to change their act now? We could have afforded better stuff way before. I'm not a sheep. Keep your gold chains and cholesterol induce Fried Chicken. I don't have to take all this crap that I'm being fed. I personally think that this site about stereotype threats is a must read for anyone who live in a so called Gentrifying area. See it here.
Wednesday, December 26, 2007
Dollar Vans
If there were a Flatbush Hall of Fame the first inductee would have to be the DOLLAR VAN. The dollar van has been a staple on Flatbush for a long time. Since I drive now, I haven’t taken a dollar van for almost 3 years. Last time I took a dollar van, it cost a $1.50. I think it might be more now. Does anyone know? The dollar vans were my life savior while in High School and College. I did not need a car to take my girlfriend to Kings Plaza. I had a girl who lived on Empire and we would be at Kings Plaza in less than 15 Minutes by dollar van. For all of you who don’t have a car, the dollar van is a great bet. It’s faster than the Bus. The only catch is that they will only go up and down on Flatbush Avenue and nowhere else. On top of that ever since Jullie Annie cracked down on illegal vans in the 90’s, the TLC now regulates the dollar vans.
Interracial Dating on Flatbush
I’ve dated many women of different backgrounds. I’ve dated Black, White, Asian and Hispanic women. I usually get different reactions from people depending one who I’m with on a date. If I go out on Flatbush with a Black girl, we don’t get any reaction at all. But if I go out with a girl of a different race, there is reaction. The reactions are mostly based on whomever I’m with. If I’m with a White Girl I get certain reactions from certain people. Younger Black Girls give me a piecing look. Younger white girls on the other hand usually give that curious look. As if to say hmm I wonder what he’s got going for himself. Older white men and some younger white guys always have that surprise look on their face. But only with a very good looking Asian or White girls. I never get looks from Asian girls unless I’m on a date with an Asian Girl. I only get looks from white girls if I’m on a date with a girl that is not black. I get more looks from all girls if my date is of a different race. Most people on Flatbush will give that a look, but try to catch themselves. The Asians, Black and White girls that I’ve dated are usually stunning looking. It might be because of their looks. I doubt it because I don’t get those same looks when I’m with a Black Girl or even a Hispanic or Indian Girl. It has never gotten nasty though. Even if it did, it’s my life. For whatever reason these looks never bother me. I’m usually more focus on the date and figuring out how to get her to want to jump my bones. Worrying about what people think is the last thing on my mind. Has anyone had any of these experiences on Flatbush? I can imagine from the looks of it that PLG and even Ditmas Park would be a haven for Interracial couples.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)